Skip to content

Stand-Up Performance

11/07/2010

I consider myself a stand-up guy.  I freely admit when I’m wrong, when I believe I’m wrong.  I may be jaded on the later, but I try to remain true to the former.

At times, I’m honest to a fault.  If my wife asks me about an outfit, I’ll weigh in with my true opinion.  Some may say that’s not smart, but it goes against the grain in the cloth from which I was cut to do otherwise.  I once called in “partying” to work because I didn’t have the compunction to call in sick when I wasn’t.  Having said that, I also used to order the clam chowder at Nordstrom Cafe knowing full well it would give me a mild reaction, one good enough to send me home at 6:00 p.m. on a Friday evening, but not one strong enough to keep me out for the night.

What is this self-indulgent preamble all about?  It’s about our current commander-in-chief.  Think and say what you will about President Obama, he is a stand up guy.  He’s the rare player who holds up his hand and says “the foul was on me.”  The albatross that says “my bad” without ever seeking your pitty.  I’ve gained mad respect for our fearless leader.  Granted, he’s led to bigger government, but much of those cards had already been played before he came into office.  He’s the batter that came to the plate for the guy that got thrown out of the baseball game with no-ball, two-strike count.  He little chance from the outset.

He’s on the TV tonight on 60 minutes, and held a press-conference a few days ago singing the same “mea culpa” song.  This will do nothing for him politically.  Honesty is not a value this country values any longer.  But, if he’s anything like me, it will do much for his peace of mind.  This admission is much more soul-feeding than most policymakers’ omissions.

Irrespective of his politics and the state of the economy, this commander-in-chief has commanded (read: earned) my respect.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    11/07/2010 8:01 pm

    I agree he’s more a “president” than a “politician” and I think that he is deeply disappointed that his naivete about how to accomplish things in Washington is now so evident. The time of the inauguration was almost fairy-tale-like and I think even he bought into the fairy tale.
    He was covered in the magical pixie dust of “change”.

  2. 11/08/2010 8:25 am

    This is so random and awesome: “I also used to order the clam chowder at Nordstrom Cafe knowing full well it would give me a mild reaction, one good enough to send me home at 6:00 p.m. on a Friday evening, but not one strong enough to keep me out for the night.”

    I love random and awesome.

  3. Diana Bush permalink
    11/08/2010 6:38 pm

    …So true, particularly in the political world, that no one really wants the truth. I don’t get that. While I didn’t vote for Obama, I do like the man for his character. I’m glad that someone is “standing up” for a “stand up” guy.

    Keep up the great work, Steve! (:

  4. 11/14/2010 10:02 am

    I wish he would fix stuff now!

  5. Steve permalink
    11/17/2010 7:11 pm

    I didn’t vote for Obama either, but I would guess like most of Americans I was at least proud to see America overwhelmingly prove that we had finally moved beyond the color barrier! I was willing to accept the fact that while people have “ZERO” idea “WHAT” they are voting into presidency, (i.e. when their lips move, its meaningless campaigning), that he was now the commander in chief so I’d better start subscribing to Hope & Change and Complete Transparency.
    Well, I disagree 1000% on the mans character. A man that would go on a 2008 Blame America and apologize world tour to play off the war weary voters , A man that would force vote sessions with “No Transparency”, A man that wouldn’t wear a flag on his lapel or hold his hand over his heart during our National Anthem, A man that would coerce buying votes for his agenda, A man that sees America as a totally different country than “America”, has Zero character in my view and so while he sits in office I will continue to address him as “Obama” until he decides to be The President of These United States of America and not some foreign country!

Leave a Reply

