Skip to content

What a tool.

10/17/2010

My wife once told a group that she was proud of me for my work ethic, which proved to be terribly ironic.  This was during a pregnancy class for Jack, who is now four.  I had just come off working 12-hour days setting up the lending operation for friend’s business.  Subsequently, I started my own branch and broker shop, which also took long hours and dedication.

Shortly thereafter, the banking crisis hit.  Lenders shrunk up like cashmere in a dryer and so did the loans… my loans.  That proved to be the demise of my business.  The following years have been marked with other fruit-poor endeavors to help fill the time and make some money, all the while still doing loans through the few broker relationships I still had.  I dabbled in medical sales, worked debt-settlement, and made some good strides in loan modifications (until California deemed it illegal), all of which helped fill my work hours.  But my days felt like an episode of “The Apprentice”… 30 minutes of content crammed into two hours of air time.   In short, I’ve felt under-employed, under-utilized and frankly, less of a man.

Now that we are in a refinance boom, I’m back to 12-hour days.  That’s why you see less of me here and in other social media outlets.  When one leaves the house at 6:00 a.m. and doesn’t return until 9:00 p.m., it makes for a writer’s cinder-block.

But it’s nice to be working at over-capacity again.  Even if it’s short-lived, I know I haven’t lost that which my wife admired in me.  I know that my lack of utility was more a function of the market than the man.  It was the machine that was broken, not the tool.  I am that tool.  A tool that shows some signs of wear, but still has all the utility that it ever had.

Originally published in OC Family October 12,  2010

One Comment leave one →
  1. 10/27/2010 5:32 pm

    Dude, I’m doing 12 hour days too. My real job is REALLY interfering with my blogging career. Jeez.

Leave a Reply

