Skip to content

The evolution of this man

10/11/2010

This was originally published in OC Family.

I don’t think I ever held a baby before I held my own.  Sounds crazy, but it’s true.  If you seen me around them now, you might not believe such.  Maybe it’s the pride of progeny, or perhaps it’s

the fact that Jack was practically a toddler at birth (10+ lbs), but I’ve gotten over the fear or their fragility, and have learned to love them for the little mess-making, energy sucks they are.

Likewise, I used to hate Disneyland.  The lines, the people, the hassle.  The announcement that we were going was usually met with an eye-roll, sigh or both.  But now, I don’t know what’s come over me?  Despite my exception with their pricing roll-out, I am a huge fan, and i am drinking the Disney-ade.

Perhaps I’m converted ’cause D-Land is now flanked by ESPNZone, The House of Blues and the La Brea Bakery?  Or, perhaps it’s because there’re craft beers and good wine to be had behind the California Adventure walls?  Those things help, but I think it’s because Disney provides repeatable, consistent experience.  Whatever Disney brands, I trust.  Whether it be a toy, a Disney-Pixar movie or a theme park experience, I know it will be done well.

Has Disney gotten better, or am I growing?  Maybe I just had to experience it through the eyes of babes to fully appreciate the House of Mouse.  Or maybe, just maybe, I’m evolving as a father and a man…

nah… It’s probably the beer.

 

4 Comments leave one →
  1. 10/11/2010 1:42 pm

    The put ‘Disney Magic’ in the beer too ya know.
    Glad you are ‘on board’ with Dland.
    Its not perfect.
    But damn near close.

  2. 10/11/2010 1:43 pm

    So good… except when your child has a full melt-down in the middle of California Adventure (yesterday’s 70 minute adventure).

  3. 10/27/2010 5:30 pm

    Awwww. This reveals your softer side SB. Maybe I’ll like Disneyland if I have kids. There’s hope yet.

Leave a Reply

