Skip to content

America’s Got Boy Toy

09/27/2010

There is a reality show I don’t watch.  In fact, I think I’m missing a lot of late.  E-mails, TV shows, parties, some of which I’ve RSVPed to, and now I find America’s Got Talent announced a winner I’ve met in person.  That’s right… Michael Grimm is my homey.

Turns out, before he got his big break on a national TV show, he was slumming around Henderson, Nevada venues and even some So. Cal. local joints.  One such engagement was Lucielle’s over in Long Beach Town Center.  It was about six years ago, and Rhonda and I went there for some vittles and live music and none other than Michael Grimm was strumming his guitar and belting the blues.  I’m not sure if it was the Bookers Bourbon they pour there or if he was just good, but Rhonda and were digging the kid.  We bought a CD, and we struck up a conversation with a woman in her 40s who we assumed was his mother or agent… Well, he might have called her mama, but that wasn’t his mother.  The two met when she was impersonating Dolly Parton at some off-the-strip establishment.  I found that out when I asked if she was his mom.  The awkwardness of the moment was diluted by the whiskey and beer (at least for me).

Grimm has since proposed to a much younger woman, and now he has a cool $ million to plan his future.  But no word where the ex-Dolly is?

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Vodka and Ground Beef permalink
    09/30/2010 12:05 am

    You’re a celebrity by association now. Niiiice.

  2. 09/30/2010 12:09 am

    girl, who you kiddin’… he is.

Leave a Reply

