Skip to content

The Big ABCD

09/08/2010

I’ve got good news and bad news for you.

First the good.

The Angels have an awesome program called “Reading on the Green.”  It’s a place where dad’s like me get to realize a dream of taking the field on professional baseball grass.  Well, there’s an educational component too.  It’s part of the Angels “Rally Readers,” a summer reading program that encourages kids to read.

Angels Rally Readers Back Pack

While I’m sure it’s educational and all, I’m here to talk about the excitement for a 4-year old going on the field in a professional stadium… well, it’s actually hard to gauge in always-happy preschooler, but for a grown-a$$ man, it was awesome!

I think Jack was actually was more excited about the backpack full of back-to-school tchotchkes they gave away.

So here’s how the day goes:

After checking in with members of the Angels Strike Force (clearly, Jack is thrilled),

Angels in the Infield - Reading on the Green (4)

you take the field “picnic style” where Juan Rivera would normally be.

Angels in the Infield - Reading on the Green (9)

Then you pose for obligatory pictures.

Angels in the Infield - Reading on the Green (7)

and again…

Angels in the Infield - Reading on the Green (15)

and again…

IMG00182-20100817-1156

and still again…

Angels in the Infield - Reading on the Green (2)

Then you actually do some reading.

IMG00185-20100817-1159

After The Giving Tree, Green Eggs and Ham and a Pop-Up Baseball Book in the 90-degree heat, it was time to socialize.

So all-in-all, it was a great way to spend a long lunch-hour.  Who knows?  Maybe it was an indelible experience that he’ll remember always.  I know I won’t ever forget it… at least not until I’ve gone senile, holed up in some crummy rest home, eating peas through a straw… but I digress.

So on with the bad news.

The program is over for the summer, so this has just been a big tease.  Stay tuned for next year.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. 09/08/2010 8:36 am

    Jealous! What a wonder event and so glad you (of all people) got to do this….

  2. Jenelyn permalink
    09/08/2010 9:02 am

    Awesome. Glad you had such a great time too. My girls were thrilled, but deep down I know that I loved it a smidge more than they did. And as a bonus, this proves that at least one person is reading my articles! Thanks! 🙂

    • 09/08/2010 10:11 am

      Yep. I would not have been there had it not been for you… Thanks JLR!

  3. 09/09/2010 8:48 am

    Here’s the thing Steve – I’m hoping maybe next year you could take me to this event. It’s not a huge secret that I have trouble reading. True, I am an adult, but it would make it all the more meaningful if I worked on my phonics while jamming around the bases. In addition, I could also spend some quality time with the players (they’re out there too, right?)

    Let me know. Your son is very cute, but he’s young and kids bounce back easier from these things, so maybe you should drop some hints now that next year might “not happen.” Something like that.

    • 09/09/2010 10:44 am

      He’s cool with it if he doesn’t have to pose in pics and he gets to keep the backpack.

Leave a Reply

