Skip to content

Had a ball, but realized I AM ‘that guy’

08/27/2010

Well, tonight was a wonderful night at my first OCBloggerBall.  Good times were had by all, even the spouses of bloggers who have no idea what (or why) we do what we do.

Tonight’s gala was at @ESAnaheimSouth (Embassy Suites Anaheim South), the one by Disneyland.  Such a cool venue.  Why? Because it’s beautiful and centrally located? No.  Because every room is a suite?  No.  Then why, you ask, is Embassy Suites such a great destination for a ball, wedding, AMWAY convention (is that crap still around)?  Easily answered in liquid form.  Embassy Suites has “Manager’s Reception” from 5:30 – 7:30 p.m.  I’m not sure what the manager is receiving during these hours, but it’s laden with free booze.  That’s right, the “Manager’s Reception” is a free cocktail hour that takes place at all Embassy Suites, or at least the six I’ve patronized (read: crashed).

Speaking of patronize, Marcy was the co-host at tonight’s “OCBlogger’s Ball.”  She was good enough to include me on the media list since I was dumb enough to miss the RSVP… twice.  Not that it would matter.  I would have ‘snuk’ in as unseemingly as I did the “manager’s reception.”

I won $50 at Eli’s Lids.  I did not, however, win the iPad that was auctioned off.  That went to some chick who has obviously sold her soul for more than 20%-off a one-night’s stay.

If for some reason you don’t drink and like to get up early (you are weird), Embassy Suites also offers free full-serve breakfasts.  I can’t tell you how many dates I’ve taken there the morning after and told them that “I know a guy.”

So what have I done here? Pimped Embassy Suites?  Maybe.  Relayed in word form what a cool night the OC Bloggers Ball was?  Sure.  Implicated myself in several crimes?  Possibly.

So, if you need to find me, look for me here at www.thebushreport.com or an Embassy Suites between the hours of 5:30-7:30 p.m. Otherwise, you might contact the Anaheim Police department… though, I doubt those accommodations are nearly as “suite” as Embassy’s.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/28/2010 7:43 am

    lol – you’re also “that guy” who quoted cheesy movie quotes that could’ve been taped out of context for some scandalous youtube footage. you can thank me for not hitting the record button ;0)

  2. 08/28/2010 7:47 am

    Awesome. As always it was great to see you and Rhonda (who looked smokin hot BTW)….sorry I didn’t get to spend more time with you guys!

    • 08/28/2010 7:51 am

      ditto. Good times. Nice gala you put on. I wish I could have met more of these faces http://www.symbaloo.com/

      • 02/10/2012 12:52 am

        Whooooooohoooooooo!!!!!!! Goooooo Tanyetta! Girl I was on the FLOOR lahguing! You were sooooooo good and funny! WHOOOOOHOOOOOOO!

  3. Ivy permalink
    08/30/2010 5:56 am

    So, I take it you WILL NOT be there for the early a.m. breakfast hours….just the boozing managers reception….typical. :o)

  4. 08/30/2010 7:03 am

    My new favorite word – “Boozey”. Great post.

  5. Vodka and Ground Beef permalink
    08/31/2010 6:49 am

    What in the hell?! I’m totally boozey and I could use an iPad to rest my cocktails on. Where was my invitation?

    • 08/31/2010 7:03 am

      Contact me through my contacts page… we’ll transplant you into the TheOCSmartly fold.

      • Vodka and Ground Beef permalink
        09/02/2010 8:57 am

        Got it. I want in in this world of elegant balls and galas. I have one cocktail dress from the 80s and it’s bedazzled and reeks of tequila.

Trackbacks

  1. Monday mashup: OC Blogger Ball attendees - The Mom Blog : The Orange County Register
  2. Blog Crush Blogger Ball | Eli's Lids the BLOG

Leave a Reply

