Skip to content

This Bark has bite

08/13/2010

You gotta’ love Charles Barkley.

On a radio show yesterday, Barkley said “I heard about LeBron’s little Tweet today that he’s remembering everybody who said anything bad about him And he said ‘everybody.’ Well, I want him to make sure that he puts my name on that [list]. He added that he thought his press conference was a “punk move” and that “[LeBron] knows where I’ll be, I don’t run. I’m on TV every week, I’m easy to find.”

It’s so great to have someone shirk political correctness in favor of candor.  Whereas Van Gundy’s on-the-record comments make him look like an idiot, these make Barkley look like a bad ass… and rightly so.  This is the guy who stood up to Shaq, and who threw a grown-ass man throgh a plate-glass window for heckling him.  As I recall, no charges were filed, so the “fan” had it coming to him.

This also the same man who once made me clinch up like a guy at his first prostate exam (for the record, I’m only 39). It was a Laker game at the Forum.  My seats were close enough to let Sir Charles know that “he sucked;” after all, he was playing my beloved Lakers. I hurled a few insults, and then decided to launch one more just as play on-the-court stopped. Barkley’s head swiveled slowly from the hardwood to the stands where I was sitting.   His head was down and his gaze was deliberate like a hound who just caught a scent of his prey. His eyes spiked mine in what I must admit was one of my least manly stands to date. I literally hiccuped with fear.

So LeBron can vow to remember all of those who criticize him, but one of his biggest critics just called him out.  That said, I don’t know what makes him think his recall skills are so good.  The man skipped college, and my guess is Cleveland’s former favorite son wasn’t put through the rigors at St. Vincent-St. Mary’s High School.  Of course, he could just ID anybody who doesn’t have a South Beach tan or diet and assume they hate him, and he’d be right.

So Lebron, why don’t you stick to trying to remember the easy stuff like making the mother of your two illegitimate children your wife, but that too might prove tough in land of scantily clad models.  And about Charles, the guy who called you “a punk.” He’ll be on TNT Tuesdays and Thursdays starting in October. If it doesn’t slip your mind, go get ’em Bron Bron.


4 Comments leave one →
  1. 08/13/2010 8:58 am

    Plus? Barkley is a charmer…..Oh! Did you see the vid of LeBron trying to make a basket at those amusement park games? HE MISSED. 3times!!!!!!!! COMEDY

    • 08/13/2010 9:36 pm

      I’ve always loved Barkley. I just had such good seats that night, I felt the need to represent LA. I literally had an “oh sh!#” moment when he looked at me. It was pretty funny in retrospect.

      In a semi-related story, that same night, I passed Matthew Perry going down to my seat and I extended my hand to shake his and said with a mock sincerity “Matt, I consider you one of my friends” with emphasis on the “Friends.” He humored me and and made an exaggerated “good one” face replete with a finger point. It was the lowlight of his night, no doubt. It was, however, only my second favorite instance of the night. Nearly soiling some season-ticket holder’s chair was my first.

  2. 08/14/2010 3:43 pm

    I had never seen that video of Barkley and Shaq. Pretty funny.

    Hopefully Lebron fails. I hate the NBA now (ever since Reggie left) but he did a dumb thing. He proved that he can’t win unless he has star power.

  3. Vodka and Ground Beef permalink
    08/17/2010 12:33 am

    SB – LeBron called you out like 7 times on his blog. Are you ready for him to come after you?

Leave a Reply

