Skip to content

Idiots say the darndest things

08/10/2010

I thought Jeff Van Gundy was annoying as a coach, then I heard him as an NBA analyst.  Who is this combed-over man of whom I speak?  Jeff Van Gundy was a coach in the NBA.  He is probably most infamous for clutching Alonzo Mourning’s leg during an on-court fight… holding it furiously like a fat kid would the last leg in the bucket. I thought that was bad, now this.

In an interview with the Miami Herald on the new look Heat, he said “they will break the (The Bulls’) single-season win record (72  games). The diminutive NBA coach went on to show he’s small of mind as well saying “I think they have a legit shot at the Lakers’ 33-consecutive game winning streak as well,” then adding “they will never lose two games in a row this year.”

He’s not only drinking the Koolaid, he’s busting through the wall like the mascot, but this should should be no surprise.  He makes clownish remarks during the most serious of games.  He’s the jerk who pauses a movie right at the climax just to make a insipid remark that takes you right out of the scene.

He’s an ESPN analyst, so he’s on the biggest telecasts, like those Lakers games that show up under my tree on Christmas Day.  ESPN continues to undermine their standing as journalistic entity with stunts like “The Decision” and continuing to employ idiots like Jeff Van Gundy.  He’s the NBA’s little clown.  The fact is he’s poor analyst, and he’s only there because four-letter network knows he’ll say something that will make a write-up in the next day’s Times, Herlad, Tribune, or Daily News such as “LA fans are idiots.”  That’s your impartial announcer speaking.  I’m writing about him now, so I’ve fallen victim to the leprechaun’s spells as well.

Albert Puljos is great, but he’s not going to hit in 57 straight and crack 73 home runs in the same season.  That’s essentially what J. Van Gundy predicts.  Of course, if I predicted it and it went down, I’d be brilliant.  Otherwise, I’m just the village idiot.

I guess that’s the good thing about being perceived an idiot already… You can go out on shaky limbs and people will just say “oh, that’s just Jeff.  He’s an idiot. Don’t pay any attention to him.”

But we do.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenelyn Russo permalink
    08/10/2010 3:10 pm

    I heard those comments yesterday. I thought the person saying them was being sarcastic. Then I heard who made the statements and I rolled my eyes–both at him and at ESPN. Really?

    • 08/10/2010 3:34 pm

      That would be funny if he was going for that. Instead, it’s just sad.

  2. 08/11/2010 12:24 pm

    I think they should swap Van Gundy with Mel Gibson. What do you think? ESPN is probably in talks with him already.

  3. 08/11/2010 12:26 pm

    By the way, I love that Koolaid Van Gundy. That is awesome. I’m on the bench for the Frosh/Soph Photoshopping Team. You’re on the varsity squad with D-1 scholarship offers on the table.

  4. 06/20/2014 8:37 pm

    What’s up, just wanted to mention, I enjoyed this blog post.
    It was practical. Keep on posting!

Trackbacks

  1. This Bark has bite « The Bush Report

Leave a Reply

