Skip to content

Bad Mother F-er

06/14/2010

Some time back, I realized how absurd it is to define yourself by the outcome of a sporting event, especially one in which you don’t compete.  After the 2004 finals, when the Lakers all but quit in Detroit, I sat on the couch and stared at nothing in particular for about an hour.  My wife came down the stairs, peeked around the banister and said “are you all right?  Do you want some time?”  I wasn’t and I did.  It was if someone had died, and I was trying to figure out how to deal with it.  Absolutely ridiculous, I know.

So today, when the Angels swept the Dodgers, I was upset.  It wasn’t until I read the vitriol against the Dodgers that I started getting worked up.  But I remained calm, choosing instead to be happy for the Angels.

Then, I witnessed 80% of the Lakers quit and get outplayed, and my mood swung sideways.  But I kept my head. Subsequently, I saw Facebook posts exalting the Celtics, “And we do it again baby! Way to go CELTICS!!!!!” The anger welled up.  I refrained from firing blasts back, so I’m doing much better. Time was, that anger would have resulted in stitches or staples for someone.

There’s this scene in Pulp Fiction where gangster Jules has this epiphany in the middle of a robbery wherein he decides that he’s going to leave his life of crime.  He confesses that he’s been saying this biblical passage for years (Ezekiel 25:17), and “[he] never gave much thought to what it meant.”  He goes on dissecting the passage, trying to figure out how it applies to his newfound renewed faith.  He demands his wallet back, “…the one that says Bad Motherf-er.” He concludes by telling the robber “I’m tryin’, Ringo. I’m trying real hard to be the shepherd.”

Me too. I’m trying. I’m trying real hard.  Now if the Lakers and Dodgers would just get their crap together, it sure would be a lot easier for this F-er.  Otherwise, I’m going to have to get biblical verse of my own.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    06/14/2010 8:18 am

    I thought you said your love of the Dodgers and the Angels was a “draw”.
    If so, you would have been equally happy if either team won.
    I just don’t get sports at all. The loyalty people feel toward one team makes no sense when the players and management of any one team change constantly and continuously. They come from all over the world, so who exactly are these “fans” loyal to??
    I understand the concept of rooting for your “home team” way back in the day- when people stayed in one city for generations- and the players actually were born and raised in that area…
    but that’s not the case now.

    • 06/14/2010 10:09 am

      Carolyn… I fully agree. It makes little sense to pledge loyalty to an organization/entity that does not reciprocate. That goes for sports teams, corporations and employers.

      Heart still with Dodgers, though Angels are a better fan experience.

  2. Jenelyn Russo permalink
    06/14/2010 9:12 am

    I get the emotion. Year after year getting booted from the playoffs the Red Sox. They loved it. And they would not shut up about it. We finally got our turn. Being a fan of sports without the emotion, to me, it’s pointless. Just stay off the social media for awhile after significant losses.

    And hey, thanks for “choosing to be happy” for my Halos. We needed these wins. Brutally long road trip (scheduled for the sole purpose of U2 concerts that never happened) and Morales out for the year. For me, it’s less about the bragging rights and more about the wins.

    Even Jules was able to be the “shepherd” in his days as a hockey coach.

    • 06/14/2010 10:05 am

      I went to the freeway series last year in a suite, and the Angels won. I wasn’t unhappy. There were 20+ rooting for the Angels, and a few rooting for the Dodgers throwing “LA” signs…

      I wasn’t unhappy with the Angels wins either over the weekend other than it exposed the Dodgers for what I thought was a poor off-season. They needed a top-flight arm (Lackey, Halladay), and one more bat. They didn’t get either. They showed well against St. Louis, but they are not built for the playoffs in my not-so-humble opinion.

Trackbacks

  1. How Do I Love The Lakers, Let me Quantitate the Ways « The Bush Report

Leave a Reply

