Skip to content

Facebook in Heaven?

06/10/2010

Many of us recently had a friend pass away.  He was a Facebook user.  Not only did the message get out about his passing, but de facto eulogies have since been rendered on his Facebook page; there are literally hundreds of postmortem posts to him, along with some condolences to the family he left behind.

Facebook is a blessing in this regard.  Many people got to say their last words to a friend who left this world.  Many others get to see the outpouring of support.  And with any luck, he is reading and cherishing those thoughts in his afterlife.

I recently looked for someone who was previously on Facebook, and now they’re gone.  It’s sad because it was cool to see what was going on in their life.  Perhaps they left because of the privacy issues?  Perhaps, it had to do with reconnection they didn’t want?   

I know another person who uses an alias, and yet another who has changed his name.  Too many ex-girlfriends coming back around? Perhaps he doesn’t want his golf-course sick days published for his employer?

I’ve seen the application be the source of injured feelings because pictures were posted of a party… a party we were not a party to.  “So-and-so was there… Why weren’t we invited?”

But on the other hand, we get to wish “Happy Birthday” to people whose birthdays we otherwise wouldn’t know about.  Facebook made sure I didn’t miss my anniversary this week (not that I wouldn’t have on my own).  So Facebook may pose problems for some, and I admit it does have issues, I’m glad it’s in my life…  And I hope some form of it is there in my death so that I may be eulogized as eloquently as our departed friend.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    06/10/2010 9:37 am

    Yup. It seems there is always a price to pay for the wonderful new technologies
    that give us amazing benefits. The good outweighs the bad, but in the begining no one ever predicts the harm that can happen. I heard that Face Book is now named as a major factor in 20% of divorces today!

  2. 06/10/2010 3:45 pm

    Just so you know. I plan to keep your Updates going after you die. I might change it to “Steve from the Grave”….. 🙂

    • 06/10/2010 3:57 pm

      Nice. I’ll give you inspiration from the grave. Kind of like a stalker, but in ghost form.

Leave a Reply

