Skip to content

I’m Not a Gleek

05/19/2010

My wife watches Glee.  I don’t.  I just happen to be on the couch often when she has it on.  OK, I like the music in it, but I don’t follow the plot-lines (That’s kind of like when someone tells you they read Playboy for the articles).  My hat is off to the producers; they always seem to mix in an infectious power ballad like Aerosmith’s Dream On, Kiss’s Beth or Journey’s Don’t Stop Believin‘.  They throwback with this week’s Saftey Dance, or Billy Idol’s Dancin’ with Myself.  They’ve got crowd pleasers like Neal Diamond’s Sweet Caroline or Billy Joel’s Piano Man. They even mix in the hip hop with tracks like Golddigger and an old-school Bust a Move.

My aversion to admitting that I like the program probably has less to do with machoism and more to do with my traumatic experience on the stage... well, it was before I ever got to the stage.  Kennedy High School’s drama department was looking for more Jets and Sharks for their production of West Side Story.  The first rehearsal had umpteen of us around a piano while the music head, Ron Hoshi, had us “take it from the top.”  it went something like this:

Group: When you’re a Jet, you’re a Jet all the way from your first cigarette to your last dyin’ day.
Hoshi: Wait… who’s screwing around (pause 2 bars)  Nobody?  (pause) Fine, from the top again.
Group: When you’re a Jet, you’re a Jet all the waaaa….
Hoshi: (interrupting) wait, wait, wait.  Steve, is that you?
Steve: No.
Hoshi: OK, from the top again.  Just Steve.
Steve: When you’re a Jet, you’re a Jet all the way from your first cigarette to your last dyin’ day…
Hoshi: (to Steve) You’re not screwing around?
Steve: No.
Hoshi: Well, sing quietly.

I quit the next day.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Terri permalink
    05/19/2010 6:52 am

    Cuz deep in there somewhere you must have the Bush performance gene. We ALL have it!

  2. Jenelyn Russo permalink
    05/19/2010 7:36 am

    That is a great story. Maybe you just need a second chance…..

  3. 05/19/2010 8:41 am

    Performance, yes. Singing, no. I recently confirmed as much on a Karaoke stage.

  4. 05/19/2010 9:31 am

    FOR REALS? I don’t remember that. I was in that show….

    And let me say it here (because I am too chicken to say it on my blog)

    I HATE Glee.
    Oh and LOST
    And American Idol, dance-off shows and Survivor.

    Whew. I feel better now.

    🙂

  5. Carolyn permalink
    05/19/2010 10:03 am

    Excellently hilarious!!! Loved it.

  6. 05/19/2010 10:45 am

    Unfortunately, this is a veritable account. I have the scar on my psyche to prove it.

  7. Vodka and Ground Beef permalink
    06/03/2010 2:56 pm

    I think you need to get back on that horse. Maybe you could start small – some community theater (but God forbid a production of West Side Story), and then from there who knows. Perhaps Broadway? Just an idea.

Leave a Reply

