Skip to content

Relationship Status: It’s Complicated… Very, Very Complicated.

05/13/2010

You know that status in Facebook about your relationship?

There’s an “it’s complicated” drop-down selection, which I assumed people used to elicit sympathy or just to be ironic to their sig Os.  Having being together with the wife longer than Justin Bieber has been alive, I’ve never given much thought to it.

But I get it now!

The fact that I’m a Dodger fan does not make me any more inclined to root against the Angels.   They don’t even play in the same league.  Despite their “Los Angeles” names, they don’t share much in common.  I have had wonderful experiences at Angel stadium, and I love their fans, and I follow their official blogger.

Now the Dodgers and the hated ones… that’s a different story.  My official favorite baseball teams are The Los Angeles Dodgers and whoever’s playing the Giants, though that fervor is somewhat feigned.  I realize that the lowly battery chuckers are arch enemies, but I don’t really care about them.  To hate Frisco (they love that) is to expend energy of mine they don’t deserve.  It’s just something to root against, like communism, taxes, Kate Goslin and richer/more handsome people.

Now the Lakers and the Celtics, that’s something totally different.  Because I love the Lakers, I, therefore hate the Celtics.  That relationship is one of mutually exclusivity.   Which is why I find myself in a vicious cycle of internal hatred for myself… a self-loathing a single, Jewish woman in child-bearing years (read: Sarah Silverman) would envy.

I was watching the Celtics tear up the Cavaliers, and I became giddy like a kid on Christmas morn.  Really, more for LeBron demise (see yesterday’s blog), than anything.  You only have to see my Facebook posts to see just how thrilled I was.

But this does cause internal conflict.  By default, I am rooting for the Celtics.  The Lakers do have some vengeance to enact, and Boston is the only Eastern team left over which the Lakers own home court advantage, so there are those up-sides.  But still, rooting for the Celtics…  It’s chilling to fathom… creepy, like Grandma slipping you the the tongue.  And worst of all, it makes my relationship status, well… complicated.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. jennifer permalink
    05/13/2010 9:08 pm

    I want to go to see the Dodger game July 5. Dodger Blue. Make it happen! Let’s do this!

  2. Haji permalink
    05/13/2010 9:32 pm

    this was your 2nd best post dude, only behind yesterdays.

  3. 05/13/2010 9:37 pm

    good lookin’ out Haji.

  4. MsOfficer permalink
    05/24/2010 10:59 am

    ok, ok, I saw LeBron…I had to:

    http://msofficer.com/2010/05/22/motherlover/

    http://twitter.com/msofficer

Leave a Reply

