Skip to content

A Mother’s Love

05/09/2010

A Mother’s Love.

I‘ve been the benefactor of it since before I was born, but I did not wholly understand it. I now have new knowledge, and I realize I did not appreciate the magnitude of the love she had for me… that is, until I had a love like that of my own.

And while I’ll never know the “joy” of passing another human through an orifices of my own, my heart too is now engulfed with this product who has, in three-and-a-half years:

  • doubled in length,
  • quadrupled in weight,
  • and grown eight times in complexity.

I lie awake at night, forging a fanciful future in my head (baseball, not cheer).  Sickness fills and swills when malevolence stirs my thoughts. This must be that mother’s love: It’s a proud, hopeful feeling that wells up inside of me and consumes my entirety (similar to eating the portions at The Cheesecake Factory, but different).

So, to all you moms out there (dads too), and to the mother of my child, Happy Mothers Day.

And to my mother who gave life to me, thank you. You’ve not only given this Mother’s Love, you’ve engendered it into me and allowed me to nurture it unto to my own.

I love you.  Happy Mother’s Day.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. dad permalink
    05/09/2010 12:17 pm

    That’s a beautiful expression.
    dad

Leave a Reply

