Skip to content

A Stance on The Flag… The Laker Flag

05/07/2010

You know that song by Meat Loaf “I Would Do Anything for Love” (but I Won’t Do That)? That’s kind of how I feel about the Lakers flags.

I moved here in 1980, back when Jerry Buss bought the Lakers, the Kings and the Forum.  This was when a CHiPs officer wouldn’t dare issue a DUI to a hampered team owner.  This was the time that Magic came to the Lakers and made “Showtime,” back when the AIDS virus wouldn’t dare inhabit the star Lakers point guard.  I was sold on the Purple and Gold.

My Laker love runs deep… literally.  I once had a fracas defending the their honor which resulted in three staples in my head (no truth to the rumor that’s where the name Staples Center originated).  I won’t say I was drinking that night, but let’s just say I didn’t need any anesthesia for my skull candy.

I have been known to hole up in Jack’s office to watch a pre-season game and the replay, while Rhonda burns through DVR playlist in the living room.  I actually refused to honeymoon at a location that did not have “American TV” (Aruba does) as we had a June wedding. I’ve got the Lake Show season schedule downloaded to the calendars (plural) on my phone.  I have an email address that reads like my personalized licence plate, both homages to the team; I made a reluctant Jack pose for this:

So in summation, I will alienate my wife, propogandize my child, spend money on tickets (well, “refreshments” anyway), and literally bleed for my team…

But I won’t do this to my truck.

No I won’t do that.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    05/07/2010 10:14 am

    Good for you! Even true love has it’s limits.

  2. 05/07/2010 10:38 am

    Do we need to mention the color of your blog header? DO WE?

Trackbacks

  1. Bad Mother F-er « The Bush Report

Leave a Reply

