Skip to content

Dodger Blues

04/14/2010

The Dodgers owners are going through a divorce… they’re causing another one with me.

I moved to California in September, 1980.  Coincidently, the same time Fernando Valenzuela was called up to the Los Angeles Dodger bullpen.  They made the playoffs that year, I was diagnosed with Fernandomania and my love for The Blue Crew was cemented… Well, the cement has cracked.

Yesterday was the Dodger home opener, a tradition I broke with in 2007 after a debacle of a day.  More on that in a second.  Firstly, I’d like you to meet the straw (that broke the camel’s back). –>  The LA Times reported today that the police have cracked down on Tailgating in the Parking lot. One hundred and thirty-two people were arrested, and even more were cited.  This is an obvious revenue-generating scheme, both for the LAPD and for the Dodger organization, who will lose out on a few $11 beer sales — literally a 1000% markup.  So in addition to screwing their fans, they’re jailing them too.

The last time I went to opening day, we got to Figueroa and Sunset Blvd. (1 mile away) an hour before the game, and did not get to our seats until the 2nd inning.  Nice job.   Hey Frank… weren’t you a parking lot attendant back in Boston?  How the hell did you screw that up so royally? I finally got to my $90 seats (not a typo).  At almost $100 per, you’d guess I’d be right behind home plate.  Guess again. I was even with the Left fielder.  Two hundred and fifty feet away from hope plate, which, by the way, was obstructed.  The seats sat so low, that if the guy across the aisle hiccuped, I saw a bald spot in lieu of a pitch.  The Dodgers lost.  My buddy welched on a bet.  It was so disgusted, that I spent the last two innings in my car waiting for the game to end… good thing I didn’t have a beer?

So what have the Dodgers done to woo me?  Nothing. They didn’t do a damn thing in the off season with a team that was obviously at least a player short of a World Series.  Wait.  I take that back; they did do something.  Along with unemployment numbers, the consumer price index and cost of living, your Dodger ducat has gone up.  They’ve doubled since McCorrupt took over; they will double AGAIN in the next six years.

So what does all this mean to me.  I can sum it up in two words:

Go Angels.



6 Comments leave one →
  1. Carolyn permalink
    04/14/2010 5:35 pm

    Well…at least the Angel’s stadium is a lot nicer and cleaner and safer.

  2. 04/14/2010 5:43 pm

    Rarely if EVER can I comment on a sports post. But here is my only observation. And it is probably racist at worst and snobby at best…

    I saw the news coverage of those who were tailgating. And um, can I say it looked like a homecoming for both the Bloods and the Krypts (or is it Crypts? I can never get my gangs right these days)….I mean I wasn’t the most ‘respectable’ looking crowd.

    Just saying. And I would argue that a good portion of those folks ‘tailgating’ were not even going into the damn game. Besides they had set up HUGE camps with furniture, bar-b-ques and all the rest. It was a bit…well, insane to me.

    Of course on the upside, gang violence was down today. They were all too busy at the Dodger game.

    (I know. I am going to hell for this comment)

  3. 04/15/2010 8:37 am

    Good news Marcy: God does not read my blog. Bad news: Beelzebub does.

  4. 04/18/2010 10:23 pm

    Glad to see you’ve finally come to your senses and joined the Halos. Welcome aboard!

  5. Jenelyn permalink
    04/19/2010 11:46 am

    We Angels fans welcome you! What took so long? I consider your decision “just another Halo victory”…..

Trackbacks

  1. 5 reasons why you will lose your husband « The Bush Report

Leave a Reply

