Skip to content

Jaimie Lee Curtis – A Brush with Gayness

04/02/2010

Once upon a time, when I was younger and much more cultured, I ventured up to the Laemmle Theater on Santa Monica Blvd to see Eric Bogosian’s “Sex, Drugs and Rock & Roll.”  The year was 1991, so that puts me about a Junior at CSULB.

This is where the preface comes in.  I had two classes with Robin So-n-so, and we would have to walk from upper campus all the way down to lower campus, passing the bookstore, food court and other well populated areas.  It was the beginning of the semester, and Robin was easy… err… a sorority girl.  She would pass her “sisters,” and without fail it was always greeted with a Schrill “Oh my gawd, Hiyeeee,” with the word “Hi” trailing on like a James Cameron movie or a three-syllable word.  Needless to say, after each encounter I would mercilessly mock her for the rest of the walk.

Flash foward to Laemmle, and somewhere in my subconscious.   I entered the nearly empty theater and walked down an aisle squeezing past two ladies.  One was our title character, Jaimie Lee.  I recognized her and immediately, and from who knows where, I belted out the identical “Oh my gawd, Hiyeeeeeee.”  Mortified of what I just escaped from my unknowing lips, I headed straight for a seat at least 12 removed from our antagonist, sat down and stared straight forward for 80 minutes.

The movie sucked.  Thanks for listening.

Byeeeeeee.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. meechli permalink
    04/02/2010 12:59 pm

    not surprised at all by your actions, SCB. solid.

  2. 04/02/2010 3:24 pm

    I take total offense the sorority girl stereo type you have painted.

    Not all of us said “Oh my gawd”

    (hello? Photo?)

Leave a Reply

